Shout out to Dad’s this weekend – Happy Father’s Day!!

“He didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it.” 

 ~Clarence Budington Kelland

This post is dedicated to all the dads out there. Happy Father’s Day!

My dad was DIY old school.  He didn’t operate from a book, fix things according to their manual or “How To” YouTube videos.  My father had a couple of rules when fixing or building something and it always seemed to work:

  1. No crying allowed – if you smashed your finger with the hammer then you could curse, bang and slam but no tears. I continue to stick this rule even today. 😉
  2. Always have a can of WD-40 on hand. Whether you are loosening rusty bolts or the knob on the radio doesn’t turn smoothly….a squirt of WD-40 does the trick.
  3. Most importantly – you can fix/build anything. “All you need is a little imagination”

So to my father who is up in heaven adding a little WD-40 to the pearly gates – I love you, I miss you and I wanted to thank you for everything you taught me and continue to teach me. Happy Father’s Day Papa.

 Sept. 13, 2008, JBear was born and my husband became a father.  However, it is what he does every day that makes him such a great dad: the impromptu wrestling matches, camp outs in the living room under blanket tents, giving high five’s to each other as they play Lego Batman, doing funny faces just to get JBear to giggle. You are such a great dad – Happy Father’s Day Lovey!

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

Speak to me! :-P

