Party Hardy this weekend

My sister-in-law laid claim to the Forth of July partying long ago and that has become a tradition in the family. Everyone gathers at her place to eat red, white, and blue cakes, fruit salad, punch and what ever else they could whip up with this theme. Kids run around with sparklers and then afterwards everyone unwinds by a huge bonfire where smores are roasted to perfection. 

This looks exactly like the cake she makes and it is delicious! (I got the above image from here)

For those of you who have stumbled across this blog, you may have been able to deduce that I am Italian-Canadian….two dead give aways (at least in my mind) are as follows: my name and my spelling of the word “colour”. 

I was going have a flag but stumbled across this image.  Seriously, anytime you find a beaver wearing a Canada t-shirt, you just have to go for it.

Where was I? Oh, Canada. (hehehe – like the national anthem…sorry, couldn’t resist).

So Canada Day is July 1st and with these two holidays being so close together and our families living 5 hours apart, one may think “Oh dear lord!! What are you guys going to do???” (or maybe something less dramatic) 😉

This year, Jason and I have decided to divide and conquer.  While he stays down and enjoys the red, white and blue; I’ll be driving north to pay homage to the red and white. 

Up north, it will be a toss-up between a day on the lake for a family fishing trip or changing a fuel filter on the tractor (if we get rained out). Either way it will be a good time – and that is no exaggeration.  Whenever I get together with my brother and sisters, we are always tinkering with something and by the end of the day my stomach hurts from laughing so hard. They are a riot!

Come Monday, I am sure we will have a slew of pictures from both functions and a ton of stories to share.

What are you guys doing this weekend? Any themed parties planned or fuel filters waiting to be changed?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

Speak to me! :-P

