Fangs, Wings, and the HEEBY JEEBIES!

What do the following items have in common?

  

Answer: The items above (and then some) are thought to ward of vampires which are thought to transform into……that’s right, BATS!!!

And where are we going with the whole bat thing?? You may be asking. 

Well let me explain…..As I drove home last night, my mind was racing with all the crafts and art projects I wanted to try due to the Pintrest Challenge that was unveiled earlier that day; my only decision was which to try first. 

As I got out of the car, JBear and I began yet another discussion as to which one of us would be Batman, Catwomen, etc. when high pitch “chirping” caught my attention. My ears perked up and I began to zone into where and what was causing the sound when, to my not-so-much-delight, I focused in on a small dark gap between the roof near the kitchen and the chimeny….my husband had the luck of pulling in right behind us and was greeted as follows:

“Is that a bird??? IS THAT A BAT!!! JASON IS THAT A BAT!!!!”

No, it was not a bat, it was many bats – and there my friends is where the heeby jeebies came in.

After dinner, Jason went off to the Fire Department for their weekly meeting (he’s a volunteer firefighter), JBear settled down with a Toys-R-Us catalog, and I got my camera for some not-so-National-Geographic footage and commentary.

Side note – this is my first try uploading a video to YouTube so I apologize for the “Suggested” videos that may be listed afterwards, I’m doing my best to figure it out. 😀

There were a ton of bats in there and yes they eat insects so that is a plus but did I mention they give me the heeby jeebies, and that is a big NEGATIVE! So now what to do?

I imagine this morning will be filled with internet searches on DIY bat repellent, etc. Any suggestions?

Images were found in Bing images; links are attached to pictures.

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

5 responses to “Fangs, Wings, and the HEEBY JEEBIES!

  • Crystal - 29 Rue House

    That is bat crazy! We use to occasionally see bats on my Grandma’s farm when we were kids kind of cool but fun spooky when you’re a kid.

    • ourlifeinaction

      LOL!!! Definately bat crazy! I am not used to seeing them up close so they freaked me out. BUT I was also so facinated by them that I spent my entire evening staring out the kitchen window trying to take pictures and video. I think my next project is going to be building a “bat house”. Thanks for the comment, Crystal 😀

  • dockfam

    I actually like bats…as long as they aren’t feeding on me! Once at a place where I used to work the graveyard shift, I was outside and a baby bat landed on my shirt. I almost pooped myself and it took me a minute to figure out what the heck it was. I had to find a safe place for it and it didn’t bite me…I called a rescue place to come get it. It was kinda cute 🙂

    • ourlifeinaction

      I would have been running around, screaming bloody murder…I have to admit, when you get past the creepy factor, they are very interesting and they eat mosquitos so that’s a bonus!! Thanks for the comment 😀

  • 2012 – Crunching the Numbers « Our Life In Action

    […] Fangs, Wings, and the HEEBY JEEBIES! 4 comments July […]

Speak to me! :-P

