Play Hard. Work Hard.

This weekend was all about spending time with family, sharing more than a few good laughs and making memories. But as the saying goes: work hard, play hard (we just did it in reverse 😉 ).

The “To Do” list continues to grow, so it is time to get back to work. Our second floor bathroom got put on hold as Jason began renovations at the Sew Pieceful Quilt Shop. However the mid-night runs with JBear to the bathroom downstairs is getting tiresome so I believe finishing off the second floor bathroom will be working its way back to the top of the list. The tub and flooring is installed now all we have to do is:

· Paint

· Install the toilet

· Install the vanity

· Install the mirror

· And decorate (which means a family feet photo shoot)

As I walked up the steps to the front porch, I found this box waiting for me.

It would seem that Jay and I are on the same page. Remember our mood board:

Vanity? Check! Shower curtains? Check! A finished bathroom….we are on our way.

Next on the agenda….tipsy top planters.

I have been dying to make one of these. Since the village block party is fast approaching, I have additional motivation to get going on this project so we can work on our yard and pretty it up a little. I have had the pots for a while and the rebar, only thing missing was the flowers. After buying the paint for the second floor renovations, I mailed in our rebate and got a Home Depot $25.00 gift card. Flowers, here I come!!!

Based on where I was planning on putting my planter, I had to get plants that would grow better in the shade so we settled on Impatiens.

It turned out that buying the hanging baskets were actually cheaper than buying the six pack of flowers. These baskets will be dismantled, divided up and replanted. And I actually have $2 left on my card.

I am planning on putting them in the corner where we had the old porch removed (after I do some much needed weeding).

After summer is over, I want to transplant the butterfly bush below into this spot. I think it will be a pretty burst of colour and will need little maintenance.

So if we didn’t have enough to do, I started to take inventory at 5:30 this morning of items that are just waiting to be hung….the only question is where. We have sconces, pictures, and this mirror, Jason and I just need to find the perfect spot and get these bad boys off the floor and on the wall.

What are your plans for this week? Any weeding or wall hanging?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

4 responses to “Play Hard. Work Hard.

Speak to me! :-P

