Healthy Snack Machine

Earlier this week, a co-worker brought in an old Jelly Bean machine and asked if it would be something I would use. Since, we have been trying to wean ourselves off of the junk food and onto more healthy snacks my first instinct was to say no thank you…..BE GONE TEMPTATION!!! And then I was struck with a stroke of inspiration.

Now I must say that we are pretty lucky that our little JBear absolutely loves apples, bananas, etc. but occasionally he does like a to munch on chips and other non-fruit related items (as do we all). So rather than deprive him completely of differently types of snacks, I thought why not transform this Jelly Bean Machine into a Healthy Snack Machine.

First I dismantled it and gave each piece a good scrub down in scalding water. Then I laid it out to dry overnight.

Putting it back together wasn’t as easy as taking it apart but I finally figured it. 😉 Last step, adding the healthy snack…peanuts. I bought honey coated peanuts to give it that sweet snacky feel. It now sits perched up on the counter where JBear can easily reach it.

I was contemplating spray painting it a different colour but since this will be holding food, I wasn’t quite sure how safe that would be.

What do you think? Any healthy snack ideas you want to share?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

Speak to me! :-P

