So Much To Do. So Little Time.

There are things I have to do, things I want to do, and of course the unplanned things that get in the way. But where or where can you find all the time to get this done and more importantly where do you find the energy to do it after working all day?

As I sit here brainstorming what I am going to do next, I realize that I need to come up with a new plan. It is no longer what am I going to do next (I have way too many choices) but when am I going to do it.

This is how my day usually goes:

5:30 a.m. – Alarm rings…perhaps I should get up and exercise. Then I turn over and hit the snooze.

6:00 a.m. – I manage to drag myself out of bed to brew a fresh pot of coffee and begin to prep for work.

7:30 a.m. (at the latest) – Little Man and I are racing out the door. Drop him off at daycare, stand by my car and make monkey faces as he and his friends stare and giggle out the window (generally act like the fool to get him to laugh but hey, that’s love for you) then off to work.

8:00 – 5:00 – Chained to my desk (where I plan what I am going to do that night, what I’ll blog about…oh and do my job of course 😉 )

5:00 – 5:45 – Pick up my little man and head for home.

6:00 – 7:00 – Prep and eat dinner

7:00 – 7:30 ish – Bath time for little man which means I get out the towels and plan for the second coming of Noah’s flood.

7:30 – 8 – The chase is on. Little man in his batman cape and undies as I run around the house after him with his pajamas. Nine times out of ten, I give up and he triumphantly sleeps in his undies.

Then there is about 10-15 minutes of tickle time, kisses and then some more stories (some read, some made up) and then a couple of minutes where he recites how good he has been and what he wants for his birthday and/or Christmas. Then we discuss “how awesome” the toys are…then after allllllllll that I glance over at the clock and it is usually around 9:45 when JBear finally drifts off to sleep and as of late, I am not far behind.

So here is my question to all you out there who have kids, or pets, or whatever – how do you do it? How do you find the time to get you daily chores done, work, spend time with friends and family, exercise, completing small projects or hobbies and still get to bed at a decent hour?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

13 responses to “So Much To Do. So Little Time.

  • Crystal - 29 Rue House

    I want to answer this but I should really be working right now so I’ll be back tonight!

    • ourlifeinaction

      LOL! Thanks Crystal! I really should be working too but found some cute ideas on time management so stay tuned.

      ~G 😀

      • Crystal @ 29 Rue House

        I’m always wondering how people do it too! My hubby is a pretty big help, he takes the kids to/from school (daycare) since I have a longer commute. After they’ve gone in the mornings, I stay home and clean for 20+ mins (dishes, bathrooms, vacuum, it varies) and then drive 40+ mins to work. For exercise, I go to the gym at my work and walk on a treadmill for 30+ minutes while I also read a book on my phone during my lunch break. My hubby also prepares dinner and our kids go to bed early (730-800pm) so then we spend 1+ hour cleaning up and prepping for the next day. Then I start projects which I wrap my hubby into a few nights a week also. There you have it! It sort of works for us…haha.

      • ourlifeinaction

        WOWSA Crystal – I can’t believe you guys get all that done plus exercise and even comment on other blogs. And the projects you take on aren’t small either. I think my house is organized chaos so what I need to do is cut out the chaos and stick with the organized part ;-). The bedtime is definately a part where I can improve on. I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for stopping by and leaving the comment. Very appreciated!!!

        ~G 😀

  • astimegoesbuy

    SLEEP?! You actually have time to sleep?!
    And one of the best things I ever did was find a lady who comes to clean the house…2 hours / $50, she comes once a week to do the bathrooms, kitchen and all the dusting and mopping. Which really means I have nearly a full day (how long it would take me to get those things done) to do other stuff.
    Cheers,
    Laura

  • Erin @ WriteTasty

    If you figure out how to manage everything, let me know! I hardly know where my days go half the time… anyone who does gets my upmost respect and awe!

    • ourlifeinaction

      HAHA!! I know the feeling Erin. Sometimes it feels like I run and run and run but accomplish nada. If I ever figure out the secret I’ll let you know and vice versa! Thanks so much for stopping by and your comment.

  • Crystal - 29 Rue House

    Hi! I wanted to comment on your Brad Paisley concert post but it says comments are disabled. 😦 Looks like you had a fun time though!!

Speak to me! :-P

