My Stephen King Bike Ride

Let’s face it we all want to be in shape….for me it is a work in progress. I came to the realization long ago that I will never have the waif look; I’m Italian and that means I was born with hips and a J-Lo booty, there is nothing I can do about that. 😉 So now my goal is not to be thin but healthy and toned.  I even joined MFP (My Fitness Pal), which is a site that allows you to track your weight, exercise calories etc.  And bonus, I have a great group of gals that encourage me to keep going no matter how many times I have to start over.

Keeping with the exercise theme, yesterday, I got the bright idea that Jay and I should start to ride our bikes in the early morning hours; Jason would go out from 5:00 – 5:30 and I would ride from 5:30 – 6:00.  As I recall – and Jason likes to remind me – my famous last words were “this won’t even feel like we are exercising…it will be more like playing”.

So bright and early, Jason headed out while I got dressed and warmed up. It was so early and I wasn’t fully coherent as I pulled on my trusty black sweats, black hooded jacket and dark blue superman ball cap.  Don’t say it….I know exactly what you’re thinking. I can already visualize my sister’s disapproving head shakes and my brother…well he would just come right out and say it “you wore all black to ride your bike when it was dark out?! You idiot!”  Yes my friends, that was stupid and won’t be repeated.  The only bit of colour on my was my bright orange shoes so at least I had that, right?

Anyways, when Jason came back he gave me a quick summary of how it went: it was cold and it was hard.  Still thinking I was in better shape then I really am, I shot him a quick smile then was off. Headphones on, Flo Rida blaring….oh yeah, good stuff.  It was only when I was about a block away that my CSI-Law and Order-brain kicked in and all the possible dangers of being out at 5:30 in the morning as a thick fog covered most of the streets, wearing all black dawned on me. Anyone with half a brain would have turned around…….anyone but me. Of course, I continued on…..

As I rode through the streets,  street light after street light went off just as I got to them. My eyes widened…and one thought went through my brain: “YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!”. The setting was perfect for a horror movie. You know the kind, where you sit there and yell at the T.V. “TURN AROUND YOU IDIOT!!!” And yet, of course, I continued on.  As my heart raced, I felt a little like this:

I peddled so fast I could feel my legs burning. At one point I even thought I would have to pull over and throw up (yeah that’s a nice image but hey it’s part of the story so had to throw it in). 😉

Rounding the bend I saw my house in site…so close and yet it felt so far away.  Finally I pulled into the driveway and ran up the back steps.

Jason looked at me. “How was it?” he asked with a half-smile.

“The street lights kept going out as got to them….” I panted

“Yeah – that happened to me too” he laughed.

As I stood in the hot shower, I felt a slight smile lingered on my lips….yeah this was scary but boy, it was also a lot of fun. Will I do it tomorrow….OH HELL YEAH! (with brighter clothes, a safety vest and perhaps a flashlight or two) 😉

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

2 responses to “My Stephen King Bike Ride

Speak to me! :-P

