Mission: Beautify

Our house, as I said it several times before, is a work in progress. That means that on any given room you will find screw drivers, drill guns, pictures that need to be hung, paint samples, etc., etc., etc.

As of late, I have noticed that our little man (JBear) has become disconcerted by his surroundings….that’s right, little man now envisions monsters upstairs and refuses to venture up to his room unless accompanied by myself or Jason. In a pinch, he has even resorted to having Molly stay close by his side as he races into his room and grabs a car or train then hauls his little butt down the steps at mock 10.

As I walked through the house, looking at it through the eyes of my little man, I realized it wasn’t really surprising that he thinks there are monsters upstairs. In the darkened hallway, ladders looming in doorways tend to take on a life of their own and look like they are just waiting to jump out and grab you. (Can you tell I am ready for Halloween? 😉 )

So what do I do? Mission: Beautify….issued and accepted!

Simple things like hanging up pictures of the family and his art, putting the ladders in the basement or garage until we are ready to use them, will really make this house feel like his home. These aren’t difficult things to do, they just seem to get put off as we take on bigger projects.

Next question….where to start? I chose the stairway. I had been toying around with what to add in the little nook at the bottom of the stairs. It definitely needed something, but what?

Scrounging through the house, I found this pretty blue vase and tin can.

After placing each in the nook and standing there for several minutes examining them (I even did a “test walk” down the steps to see how they looked as you walked downstairs…crazy, I know, but that’s me 😉 ); both seemed too small to really work in that space.

The nook is small, but with the height of the ceiling, I thought it needed something taller and wider. Then, by chance, we found this beautiful arrangement. The colours were gorgeous and accentuated the painted hallway. Bonus – JBear was the one that spotted them and so now it really feels like he has control over his space.

I didn’t have anything that was big enough to hold them so I let JBear pick a vase to go with them….he not only chose one that would work perfectly but it was also in my price range, $7.00. That’s my boy!

And voila – the final product:

It didn’t require a lot of work, and although I am still working on the art piece that is going up on the wall (hint…looks like a picket fence), this quick and easy fix made the stairway look less intimidating.

So what did you do this long weekend? Any sprucing up around the house or just a lot of rest and relaxation?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

3 responses to “Mission: Beautify

Speak to me! :-P

