Makeup’s Dirty Little Secret

I love makeup. I love everything about it. I am not, however, a pro by any means. There are days were I dabble in the art of a smoky eye but if you ask anyone that knows me, more often than not, I am wearing the bare minimum; a touch of mascara, some lip gloss and out the door.

The reason behind this is simple….I hate the clean-up part. If only there was a quicker way to take your makeup off at night when you are dead tired….and the brushes, don’t get me started on cleaning brushes. Or should we? 😉

Recently I got hooked on makeup blogs – the way they apply their makeup so effortlessly and easily just captivated me. The brushes looked so fun and of course their makeup always looked great. So with my deductive reasoning…it had to be because of the brushes (truth be told….I just wanted to get a set of brushes and needed to justify it in my own mind).

After reading up on different types of brushes I order the 22 piece set by Coastal Scents.

The best part of this brush set is that it is that you get a lot of brushes for not a lot of money and that is perfecto for me.

Yes, it’s true, makeup is so much more fun when you can use all sorts of different brushes and colours. But all good things eventually come to an end and for me, that was when I noticed that all my brushes looked like this…..

Although I had avoided it up to now, that option was no longer available, so for all of you that are in the same boat I was, here is a post just for you: How to clean your makeup brushes. It may not be glamorous…but we all have to do it sooner or later.

Step one, rinse of the ends of each brush in warm water. Be sure to rinse them with the brush part facing down so that the water doesn’t pool in the handle part.

Step two, get some mild soap (I chose baby shampoo because I already had some) and gently massage into the hairs of your brush with your fingertips.

Step three, rinse the soap off the brush (again facing the brush downward).

Step four, be sure to gently squeeze the excess water out of the brush and lay it on a clean towel to dry (which may take several hours depending on the size of the brush).

I also tried to reshape each brush so that it kept its original shape as it dried.

Voila! Nice clean brushes. So all in all, it wasn’t as painful as I originally made it out to be, but that doesn’t mean I won’t complain about it the next time I have to wash them. 😉

Anyone know an easier way to clean brushes? Feel free to share, the more the merrier! J

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

3 responses to “Makeup’s Dirty Little Secret

Speak to me! :-P

