What’s For Dinner?

As discussed in a recent post, I cooked an enormous ham and now have the fun task of coming up with creative ways to incorporate the leftovers into breakfast, lunch and/or dinner.

After much begging and pleading from Jason, I finally broke down and made scalloped potatoes for dinner last night. Now, let me preface this post by saying (for those of you who don’t know) I am Italian. I never made, nor have I ever ate scalloped potatoes before so I this was all new to me. Always one for a challenge, I began my search.

Step one: Find a recipe.

Step two: Find an easier recipe that I can actually make. 😉 So after some searching, I stumbled upon a decent looking Scalloped Potatoes’ n Ham recipe. Here are the ingredients you will need to make this dish:

  • 3/4 cup powdered nondairy creamer
  • 1-3/4 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons dried minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 6 large potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2 cups diced fully cooked ham
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese

Step three: I peeled, washed and began slicing potatoes. Although the recipe called for 6 large potatoes, I used a lot more to fill up the baking dish. I just kept peeling and slicing until the dish was full.

Step four: Next I substituted half a red onion (diced) for the dried minced onion that is listed in the recipe. After all, recipes aren’t carved in stone and I figured I should just use up what I had in the fridge.

Step five: I diced up some of the left over fully cooked ham that I had in the fridge. Again, I just eyeballed it and didn’t measure it to the exact specifications listed in the recipe. After spraying the baking dish with non-stick cooking spray I combined the potatoes, ham and onions into the dish and put off to the side.

Step six: Set the oven to 350° so it can begin to get nice and warm up as you make the super special secret sauce.

Step seven: In a bowl, combine creamer and water until smooth. In a small saucepan, melt butter. Stir in the flour, onion, salt and paprika until smooth; gradually add creamer mixture. Bring to a boil; cook and stir until thickened.

Step eight: Pour the sauce over the entire dish and stir to make sure the potatoes are coated.

Step nine: Cover and bake for 15 minutes. Uncover; bake 40-50 minutes longer or until potatoes are tender. Sprinkle with cheese; bake until edges are bubbly and cheese is melted

Step ten: ENJOY!!!!

I tried to get an action shot of JBear enjoying this dish but that quickly turned into a game called let’s eat before mommy can take a picture. Oh well, at least he enjoyed his dinner. 😉

So is this a recipe you think you may try? If so, please send in comments or pictures and let me know how it turned out for you. What comfort foods do you make?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

8 responses to “What’s For Dinner?

Speak to me! :-P

