Different Perspective

Everyone is on a journey of some sort or another….one of mine is with my weight. That’s right, it is about to get real deep up in here. 😉

I am Italian, so let’s face it, I have curves. I will never master the waif look nor do I want to. And yet, every time I look at certain outfits, the first thing that pops into my head…..”I need to lose weight”. Ahhh society, what cruel headgames you have played.

I don’t need to loose weight, I need to gain a new attitiude. When, I look at Sophia Vergara, she is gorgeous and curvy. She not only owns those curves but flaunts them and I love, love, love her attitude.

Don’t get me wrong, it wouldn’t hurt for me to tone up a bit, but even more so, I really need to change the way I think.

The funny part is that the majority of the outfits I love (like the one below) would look as good on someone with curves, so why do I hold on to the clothes that don’t fit and/or flatter?

My sister always tells me, dress the body you have now, and when you feel good everything else will fall into place. Why, oh why, did it take me so long to listen to her? Must be that stubborn Italian nature. 😉 Well no longer! I am on a mission – regardless of how cute a top, jeans or even pair of shoes are, if they don’t fit and flatter then out they go.

How about you? Any of you into fashion or in the midst of a fashion overhaul?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

9 responses to “Different Perspective

  • amydewbrie

    Nice perspective….I am italian too, well half. I live curves I wouldnt mind a few less of them though

  • bubza

    I totally get where you are coming from! I know i will never be one of those skinny minnies but i also need to be happier with my curves!

  • Crystal @ 29 Rue House

    I’ve started going through my closet…need to keep going. I also need to be more accepting of me just as I am…although I’d love to magically lose 20 pounds! Haha

    • ourlifeinaction

      Wouldn’t we all lol. I think if you dress the body you have now, you will be happier and then loosing weight won’t be as hard…..or at least that is the theory I am going to go with.

      Thanks for stopping by Crystal. 😀

  • Healthy Glow Nutrition

    Great post! I know from experience that no matter what your shape or size is, we as women need to be more accepting of ourselves. There are things that can and cannot be changed. Those we need to embrace and highlight like Sofia. When we own our bodies and curves we shine instead of feeling bad about ourselves. Now go on and enjoy those wonderful, womanly curves 🙂

    • ourlifeinaction

      AMEN TO THAT!!! I couldn’t have put it better if I tried. We really should embrace what makes us different, our curves, our hair, etc. rather than try and mold ourselves to be a clone of everyone else. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for stopping by. 😀

  • Healthy Glow Nutrition

    Thank you very much 🙂 I am happy to hear that 🙂 I have seen my body go though many changes as I’ll be 38 in a week. Things aren’t the way the used to be in my 20’s but that it OK! I find that my boyfriend never sees my self proclaimed “flaws” but it is all my own insecurities. It is also our society that thinks men look more handsome as they age, while we as women lose our beauty after a certain age! This notion to me is ridiculous! The only way around all these issues is self love and self acceptance. My motto has been “if you don’t like me don’t look”! This is me, like it or not! 🙂 Confidence is ourselves is what we need above anything else. I also noticed that a woman’s confidence trumps all! I have seen many insecure skinny women, and very secure full figured women who own their curves! I applaud these women!
    Sincerely,
    Éva

Speak to me! :-P

