Snowflakes and Candy Canes

With all the stress and craziness of the holidays, it is nice to just take a night and decompress. For us, this means cutting out snowflakes and sipping on hot chocolate while watching Christmas specials or shutting off the T.V. all together and enjoying each other’s company.

Now I know this may be shocking, but for me, making paper snowflakes was always a difficult task. I know….I know….how on earth could this be hard?? Amazingly enough, I always seem to cut where I am not supposed to and end up with snowflake quarters, rather than an entire snowflake. Yes, that is my curse. But not this year!!! I am taking some preventative measures and doing my research ahead of time.

I was really surprised to see the range of paper snowflake creations out there.

You can get super fancy and try out some 3-D snowflakes:

Soured: http://pinterest.com/pin/162762974004121085/

Source: http://pinterest.com/pin/157133474468255383/

Both are so pretty but way out of my league.

Being realistic in my snowflake creation abilities, I think it best to keep it old-school and stick with the one dimensional flakes. These would be so cute hanging from a window or the top of a doorway. And bonus….they come with directions. 😉

Source: http://pinterest.com/pin/211950726182736210/

And as I said, making paper snowflakes can only be enhanced by sipping on some hot chocolate as a candy can slowly dissolves into it, enhancing the flavor. Topped off with marshmallows and/or whip cream…..forget the snowflakes, all I need is this! 😉

Source: http://pinterest.com/pin/223913412695051540/

In an attempt to fancy things up this year, I scoured the internet and found this recipe. I’ll let you know if it is a keeper in my books tomorrow.

Ingredients

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup white sugar

1 pinch salt

1/3 cup boiling water

3 1/2 cups milk

3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup half-and-half cream

Directions

1. Combine the cocoa, sugar and pinch of salt in a saucepan. Blend in the boiling water. Bring this mixture to an easy boil while you stir. Simmer and stir for about 2 minutes. Watch that it doesn’t scorch. Stir in 3 1/2 cups of milk and heat until very hot, but do not boil! Remove from heat and add vanilla. Divide between 4 mugs. Add the cream to the mugs of cocoa to cool it to drinking temperature.

What are you guys doing tonight? Anyone want to partake in the Snowflakes and Candy Cane tradition? We can swap pictures of our creations tomorrow.

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

2 responses to “Snowflakes and Candy Canes

Speak to me! :-P

