New Year. New Colour

After my horrible ombre experience, I couldn’t muster up the courage to go back to Ulta and get my hair “fixed”. I went an entire month wearing my hair in a bun or some other concealing fashion. Multiple washes later, the colour had faded from red to a pinky red and I could ignore the problem no longer.

Going to Walgreens, I bustled up and down the hair isle trying to decide on my new colour and shade.  I finally settled on a dark shade of brown. With the 50% off tag calling my name, it just felt right. 😉

If you have kids, pets, or a weak stomach, you may want to quickly scroll through the before pictures. 😉

Okay, here we go….

Before:

SONY DSC

Not horrible right? Wait for it…….

SONY DSC

hair

And there you go, some sort of weird triangle looking dye job that goes transforms into a light-brownish-blondish-pinky-red mess. OMG – it was like mood hair, which changed colours base on your perspective and lighting. Ahhh that is the perfect description. 😀

Okay, let’s move on shall we.  I needed a change so I decided to go with the Garnier Nutrisse, dark brown colouring foam.

SONY DSC

I had never used a colouring foam before but what the heck, you on live once and I was feeling adventurous. 😉

Step 1: Add the contents from Bottle B into Bottle A. Twist the bottle back and forth so the ingredients combine but do not shake

SONY DSC

Step two: Put on the pump lid and start to dispense into your hair starting with the roots and working your way to the ends.  Oh how attractive. 😉

SONY DSC

Couple of points. First thing is you want to be sure to wipe off all that extra that got on your forehead, temples etc. with a damp cloth (that you don’t mind getting dye onto). If you don’t do that, you will dye your skin and although it will wash off after several scrubbing attempts, save yourself all that trouble and clean it off before the ‘damage’ is done.

Secondly, the directions say to do the roots first and wait 25 minutes then do your ends and wait 5 minutes before rinsing off. Although it is easier to do it all at the same time, Iam guessing if you do this you may have a more uniform colour (just a guess, I am far from an expert in this department).

Another little trick I do is to get a plastic shopping back and wrap it around my hair (kind of like a shopping bag hat). This helps to trap the heat and set the dye. It also keeps it from dripping onto your clothes. Again, I am not an expert in this, I just heard that somewhere and always do it.

After 30 minutes, rinse until the water runs clear. Voila! You are done.

Here is the result.

Before:

SONY DSC

After:

SONY DSC

Althought the picture kinda stinks (I have yet to master the one-hand-camera-facing-the-bathroom-mirror picture taking ability, but I am trying), the I love the colour; I think it matches my natural colour.

What do you guys think? Any tricks that you would like to share?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

8 responses to “New Year. New Colour

Speak to me! :-P

