DIY Sweater Hat

Sweater hat??? That’s right, this post is how to convert sweaters into hats.  I first saw the idea on pintrest and I thought how stinkin cute. It has also been extremely cold up here and I just couldn’t bring myself to buy a hat (or touk as we call them in Canada) when I had a perfectly good sweater I could refashion into a touk.

This is how I did it.

Step 1: get a sweater that you wouldn’t mind cutting up.

SONY DSC

Step 2: I cut off the arms and planned to use them as half gloves (gloves minus the fingers).

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Step 3: measure where your thumb will go and cut a small opening. I did it along the seam that was already there then sewed the top and bottom of the seam so that it wouldn’t continue to open.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Step 4: cut out a hat-shape-half-oval looking thing on the bottom of the sweater. Yeah, I know that is pretty technical language 😉 so I took a picture to illustrate what I was talking about.

SONY DSC

The sweater also had a really cute button at the top that I planned to incorporate into my touk.

SONY DSC

Step 5: sew the two halves of your hat together. Then turn them inside out so the seam isn’t showing and voila! I thought the button looked super cute as a finishing touch.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

It isn’t super tight and fits perfectly so all in all, I think this was a successful Pintrest DIY.

What do you guys think? Is this something you would try? What would you do different?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

10 responses to “DIY Sweater Hat

Speak to me! :-P

