DIY Vase Makeover

It is time for the unveiling of my submission in the Winter Edition Pintrest Challenge.

If you recall, I had so many cute ideas to choose from and it was too hard to choose just one, so I did a couple and I will post about each later on. For this challenge, I decided to submit my take on the DIY Vase Makeover.

Here was my Pinsiration:

Pinned Image

Source: http://pinterest.com/pin/62768988528742404/

I chose an empty Desorono bottle which I thought was quite pretty (and tasty) and a clear vase that I had tucked away.

SONY DSC

We had some purplish paint left over from our JBear’s room which will complement the green hallway upstairs. I know that sounds crazy but trust me, the purple against the green looks so pretty. 🙂

SONY DSC

I laid out some newspaper on the counter to accommodate my extreme clumsiness. This was a great idea since I managed to spill some paint just by opening the lid. 😉

Using a paper cup, I scooped up some paint and began pouring it into the empty bottle.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC 

I used a wet paper towel to wipe up the paint that spilled on the outside of the bottle and then began to swirl the paint around so that it covered every side.

SONY DSC

Once the inside of the bottle was fully coated I repeated the process on the vase.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

As to how much paint to use in each, it is really just a guess. I kept adding a little at a time if I thought it needed it. I was amazed at how different they looked just by adding some colour. Picture these babies filled with flowers….can you tell I am dreaming of spring. 😉

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I found a broken necklace that I had been hanging onto and added it to the vase for a little flair.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

What do you think? Is this something you would do? I must admit I am hooked.  These are so easy and quick to make and that my friends is my motto. 🙂

A big thank you to SherryKatie, Megan, and Michelle, who hosted this edition of the Pintrest Challenge. Don’t forget to pop on over to their site and check out what DIY goodness they came up with.

Happy DIY’ing and thanks for stopping by.

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

24 responses to “DIY Vase Makeover

Speak to me! :-P

