Warding Off The Winter Blues

I live in an area where winter lasts from October/November-ish to around May. That means bundling up, heavy boots and tons of layers. For those of you who do not live in a “winter wonderland”, you may picture it as follows….

Winter-wallpapers-winter-2768334-1024-768

Source 

Beautiful, right? This is an illusion.

Given our wacky temperature fluxes this is what tends to happen around this time of year. We get snow, then it melts, then some rain, then it freezes, then it melts again, another layer of snow….and after all that you end up having something more like this…

Source

Everything feels muddy, cold, and dirty. UGH!!! This is the part I hate the most. This concoction of wintery sludge has a tendency to stick to you like glue. Forget wearing any cute shoes, those babies will be destroyed before you even get to your car.

The only thing that keeps me sane during these months is perusing spring fashions, makeup, etc. This does wonders for the winter blues and allows me to prep for spring. 😉

Since I have been wearing mostly greys and blacks to camouflage all any the sludge that gets on me, I find myself longing for colour. These outfits are super cute:

Pinned Image

Source

Pinned Image

Source

Pinned Image

Source

I absolutely love this look; the blue and bright green play off each other beautifully. Now, where would/could I ever wear this?? Hmmm, maybe in NYC, as I cross of the “Sex In The City Night” off my Bucket List.

Pinned Image

Source

Oh open-toed shoes…..how I’ve missed thee!!!!

Pinned Image 

Source

And brighter colours for eyes, lips and nails…can’t wait!

Pinned Image

Source

Pinned Image

Source

Pinned Image

Source

Ahhh….feeling better already. 😀

What do you do to ward off the winter blues? Or for those of you that are  lucky enough to have summer all year round, what do you do to change it up?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

2 responses to “Warding Off The Winter Blues

  • now at home mom

    oh! I needed this! loving all those outfits! the pink is perfect for me! ha!ha! 🙂 same for us “winter lasts way too long over here!” , every day I go for walks but there is no sun; not helping my mood! 🙂

    • ourlifeinaction

      The sludge today was the last straw….I just had it….my pants weren’t just wet they were muddy and I had even rolled them up. The inside of my car was muddy….AHHH….deep breath….think of open toed shoes….deep breath…..bright colours…..LOL! 😉 Okay – all better now.

Speak to me! :-P

