DIY Makeup Brush Cleaner

I am all about saving money, but then who isn’t? Rather than go out and buy cleaner for my make-up brushes I decided to venture out onto Pinterest and search for a DIY recipe. There are a ton to choose from but I found a couple that looked similar so I decided to try it out.

Here is what you’ll need:

  • Water
  • Alcohol (and I’m not talking about the tequilla kind of alcohol 😉 )
  • Shampoo
  • Leave-in Conditioner
  • And a jar or bottle to mix it in.

SONY DSC

 

Oh and your dirty brushes…of course. 😉

SONY DSC

Here is how you want to mix it all together:

  1. Pour one (1) cup of water into the mixing jar
  2. Add in a quarter of a (1/4) cup of alcohol (this serves as the disinfectant)
  3. Add a 1/2 tablespoon of dish soap
  4. Add a 1/2 tablespoon of shampoo
  5. Add one (1) tablespoon of leave-in conditioner, this helps condition the bristles
  6. Gently and slowly stir the mixture

SONY DSC

Once mixed, transfer the cleaner to the empty bottle

 

SONY DSC

Now for my review on this DIY concoction:

  • Unfortunately this mixture didn’t work as well as I would have hoped. I felt that I needed to add more soap to actually get that deep clean I was hoping for. 
  • On a positive note, this smelt really nice and my brushes smell wonderful long after cleaning them with this DIY brush cleaner.
  • I am considering pouring this into a spray bottle and using it as a daily brush cleaner. Just add a spritz on a paper towel and rub your brush back and forth to get any dark shadow off.

I am still on the search for a good, deep cleaning DIY brush cleaner. What will I try next? This one looks a little interesting.

Pinned Image

Source

Do you guys buy or make your own brush cleaner? Any tips or tricks you would like to share?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

9 responses to “DIY Makeup Brush Cleaner

Speak to me! :-P

