Tone It Up Tuesday: The Blasted Treadmill

Treadmills. Love them or hate them?

I have a love/hate/hope thing going on with mine. I love the fact that it helps me lose weight. I hate that I look like I am about to get on a wild bull in a rodeo every time I step on the dang thing. And I hope that one day we can be friends. Who am I kidding – I hope that one day I can kick its butt. 😉

So, I have set some goals. Because without goals, what do we have to shoot for?

Source

I’ve read so much about how good it feels to run, how it is a great way to get rid of stress and so on. So here’s my goal: by the end of the summer, I want to be able to run for 30 minutes without stopping.

Some of you may be thinking that’s nothing, but to be honest, I can barely run a full 2 minutes right now. I know  – it’s horrible! I’m out of shape but not for long. 

Source

 For you to achieve your goal, you must have a plan. After doing a little “research” and a lot of pinning, I found this little ditty on Pinterest.

Source

I’m not sure if I can run at 5.0 but I am definitely going to give it a try.

My friends from fitnesscrEATures had this interval workout on their site this morning. This should give you an indication of how fit these girls are. Definitely check out their blog if you haven’t – not only are they fit but they are super funny as well.

Roll call time – how has everyone been doing and what has everyone been doing. Let’s keep this momentum going. If you’re like me and you  stumble on and off the fitness path, DON’T GIVE UP!

Source

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

10 responses to “Tone It Up Tuesday: The Blasted Treadmill

  • now at home mom

    🙂 Don’t give up! that’s right! you go girl! I’m sure you will be able to run 30 minutes non-stop and run a 5K very soon, try to not look at the speed you are running on your treadmill, think about the time you are running “breathe”, listen to music and soon you will see you will be at 5 min non-stop , the next stay at 6 min , the next at 7min !!! you can do it! & have fun doing it (play fun songs) 🙂

  • anna

    I’m a big fan of intervals, especially on the treadmill since it switches it up every now and then. I don’t know if you’re on Pinterest, but if I ever lose motivation there’s a lot of great fitness stuff on there to get you excited about it again! Have fun and best wishes on your goal! 🙂

  • marisaporter

    I agree I love music! My music actually gives me my intervals. When Paradise comes on (thepianoguys version), my heart rate goes up to 170.

  • marisaporter

    And I have to confess I hate treadmills. 😦 I use the elliptical at the gym.

  • megbek

    You are wonderful for giving something new a shot! I’d like to put you at ease with this knowledge: when I started to run about two years ago, I couldn’t run for more than two minutes either. I used to imagine being able to run a full mile. And from there, practice made perfect. I literally started with zero running skills and have come a long way sense with dedication << much like the dedication you have already shown just by starting. The treadmill is great for speed work and be sure to get outside, too! Especially if your weather is as decent as ours is in GA. I'm so impressed that you're looking into treadmill interval workouts-I just started doing them and I've been a runner for about two years now! Sheesh! You're ahead of the curve already. Anyway, you have tons of my support for even getting started and I'm so glad you used something I made to get started. 🙂 You're the very best and I can't wait to keep up with your running journey. You'll be running for 30 minutes straight in no time at all with the positive attitude you already have. 🙂

Speak to me! :-P

