I PASSED!!

Back in March, I decided (with much prodding from my hubby) to rejoin our volunteer fire department. You may remember these epic pictures of my past fire fighting days (seriously, I’ll use any excuse to show them 😉 ).

155240_364905170250264_1379484968_n

318834_169070943167022_3977477_n

When I rejoined and say my name on the locker with my gear waiting for me, I felt a sense of pride that I just can’t explain.

The next step was to become a EMR (Emergency Medical Responder). I worked from 8:00 – 5:00 p.m., had class two nights a week from 6 – 10 which meant that on those nights dinner was a luxury and on other nights I had to bust my hump to get posts ready for the blog ahead of time. The schedule was a little hectic but I stuck with it.

Last night was our Practicals – a portion of the testing where you have to pretend you get on a scene and act out what you would do and how you would treat your patient. I was a wreck! I knew my stuff but my nerves had me wired.

One of the many great things about the guys and gals in the fire department is that everyone sticks together (regardless of your department). One by one, as each person went through the testing, they came out to a series of fist bumps and high fives. It was awesome!

I got to the station at 5:40 p.m. and was done my testing (with a  kick ass passing grade) by 9:30 p.m. As much as I would love to start the celebration, it is back to the books for me as I cram for the final which is on May 23.   Next week – oh yeah baby, the party will commence.

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

9 responses to “I PASSED!!

Speak to me! :-P

