Healthy Ice Cream…WHAT??

I have two weaknesses when it comes to food: chocolate and ice cream.  There is nothing better on a hot summer day than a cold and creamy ice cream cone….or bowl of ice cream….or heck I’ve been known to eat it right out of the box before. LOL! I told you, it is a weakness. 🙂

Now that I am doing my best to eat as healthy as possible, I decided I need to look for an alternative to ice cream. My friend let me in on little secret – frozen banana “ice cream”.  She said it is so sweet and creamy that is is just as good as ice cream – WHAT??! Impossible.

There is only one way to know for sure…try it. 

Step 1 – Freeze Bananas.

Step 2 – Get new bananas, PEEL bananas, then freeze them. LOL – Peeling banana’s prior to freezing them is kinda crucial. 😉

SONY DSC

Step 3 – Put frozen bananas in food processor or blender and blend, blend, blend.

SONY DSC

Step 4 – Add a little bit (like 1/4 cup max) of milk (I did this to help it blend and make it a creamier)

SONY DSC

Step 5 – Dish out and add toppings if desired. On this round, I added a little bit of Nutella for little man and I. Jason added some nuts and Nutella and said it was AWESOME!

SONY DSC

Verdict: SUCCESS!!!! Little man ate his and mine. Best part – I felt totally guilt free giving him seconds of this sweet snack. 🙂  There are also a ton of variations that you can try with this, such as adding frozen strawberries, blueberries, or peanut butter…so many delicious combinations that I want to try.

Give it a try and let me know what you think. 🙂

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

2 responses to “Healthy Ice Cream…WHAT??

Speak to me! :-P

