Let’s Get Serious

Let’s get serious….just for a second then I promise, I will return to my normal goofy self. 

Yesterday, I found out that friends of ours are separating after being together for 13 years. It shocked me.  I mean mouth open just standing there staring kind of shock. Maybe it’s because I am a hopeless romantic and I want to believe that true loves last forever.

Everything about them made it seem like they were perfect for each other. They had the same hobbies, they went almost everywhere with each other, and did everything together.  They are the kindest people you could ever meet. They are the kind of people who literally stopped their car when they noticed a spider on the dashboard and gently put it in the grass.  A SPIDER PEOPLE!! And that’s a true story.

So naturally, I wondered how could this happen? What went wrong? When did being apart seem like a better idea then being together?

Just to be clear, I’m not judging them for their decision at all. They are doing what is best for them and who knows, maybe they are better off going down separate paths. I wish them the best regardless of if they are together or apart.

It did, however, make me take a step back and reflect on my own relationship. Is it the best it can be? How can we make it better? How can we make it last?

staying inlove is very special..   +++For more quotes + advice on     #relationship and #love, visit     http://www.thatdiary.com/

Relationships are hard work, add the stresses of everyday life and your lucky if your relationship lasts a day. Then you throw in the fairy tale endings that were drilled into our heads when we were kids and you just expect to find your one true love and live happily ever after. Is that really too much to ask?

fairy tale quotes - Google Search                           @Greg Takayama Forrest

I admit, I’m a hopeless romantic. I can’t help it.  I cry at sappy movies, my heart melts when I catch my husband staring at me from across the room, I would cherish a hand written note from him over an expensive gift because I would know that it was written especially for me. 

.

All that being said, I am also realistic. I think relationships that work are due to a mixture of trust/honesty, communication, a lot of hard work, topped off with an ample dusting of romance. 

 

So that’s my two cents. What do you think? What makes your relationship strong? And remember….

The Grass Is Greener... Where u water it dang it !! Keep it green

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

8 responses to “Let’s Get Serious

  • Sara @ Fit.Fun.Femme.

    I am so sorry to hear the news but hope that they will both find happiness. Yes – marriage is a lot of hard work. I think one of the things that has kept my husband and I going is that we learned how to fight and quickly get over it. Arguments are inevitable…but holding a grudge does no one any good. When we are upset, we talk about it. And we never had the idea in our head that everything was always going to be sunshine and daisies. But sometimes it is :).

    • ourlifeinaction

      I hope they find happiness too. They are both great people.

      I think my hubby and I realize that our relationship is always a work in progress. There is going to be bad times, there is going to be good times. Hopefully there will be more good than bad. And I totally agree with everything you said. 😀 Thanks so much for sharing. 😀

  • wonderlandbytatu

    Be Honest, be willing to make a few sacrifices, respect your better half, don’t let yourself go, communicate to him/her what bothers you.
    Relationships are hard work, especially if you want them to last. I am a hopeless romantic myself but have realized that LOVE is not enough to keep a couple together.
    Thanks for reminding me to water my grass (that sounds so weird) xxx

    • ourlifeinaction

      LOL!!! So weird but so true. I love everything you said and agree with it 100%. I forgot to add, don’t loose yourself. Being in love means loving each other’s similarities and respecting your differences. Thanks so much for sharing. 😀

  • Cowboys and Crossbones

    That bites the big one. Especially since the couple always seemed to get along so well. Any relationship takes work – and thoughtfulness. People change and grow and so should the relationship. LOVE the last quote!

    • ourlifeinaction

      I agree. No one and no relationship can stay in the same place forever, you’re always growing. there are two choices: work to grow together or do nothing and grow apart. Sometimes that is easier said than done unfortunately. Just breaks my heart.

  • simplyeclecticlife

    I think successful relationships require a lot of compromise & letting go of always having to be ‘right’ (even when you know you are). They also require patience & respect. And romance….lots of it…or you become roommates instead of partners..

    • ourlifeinaction

      Exactly – I like that eventually you get in a comfortable phase with your significant other but that doesn’t mean that you toss romance out the window. Thanks so much for sharing 😀

Speak to me! :-P

