Old To New Again

This past weekend was Yard Sale Days in my little town; which is basically a village wide yard sale which culminates with the Fire Department’s ‘famous’ chicken BBQ.  All in all, it is a good time.

With a $8.00 burning a hole in my pocket little man and I set out looking for a bargain. Before long, we were hauling our loot back to the house. I don’t want to brag (okay I sort of want to brag) but we got some great deals:

  1. A pair of practically new high heals for 50 cents (seriously, how can you go wrong with that)
  2. A set of 4 tea cups with matching saucers for $1.00 (Pinterest Challenge material maybe 😉 )
  3. A container of blue decorative beads for a $1.00
  4. A pair of picture frames for 50 cents
  5. Toys, toys and some more toys. Seriously though, little man was an awesome bargain hunter. He was able to get a  toy bat, three action heroes and the Joker Playhouse (a $30.00 value in store) for $2.00. That’s my boy!

I have a ton of DIY projects planned but for this post, let’s go back to those picture frames I mentioned.

SONY DSC

This not so attractive pair cost me a grand total of 50 cents. They had some nicks and dings in them, but I thought that added some character so I snagged them up. Now comes the fun part.

Step one, dismantle and give them a quick clean. Then I laid them out on some newspaper to dry while I prepped for step two.

SONY DSC

Step two, pick a beautifully bright spray paint. Easy peasy!

SONY DSC

This particular brand said it had a primer in it and bonded to plastic, wood, wicker, etc.

Step three, spray, spray, spray.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

It took several coats to cover up the darker frame. When I do this again (and I definitely will) I am thinking I am going to prime the frames first. Anyways, as my beautifully yellow frames laid drying in my yard, I had a tough decision to make; what was I going to put in them…pictures, a cute saying, a letter….the possibilities were endless.

I managed to narrow it down to four possibilities.

SONY DSC

And here is the finished product.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I haven’t decided where I am going to hang these beauties yet, so for right now I have them propped up on a desk. I must say, I am quite smitten with the yellow frames. They are so vibrant and bright, you can’t help but smile when you look at them.

SONY DSC

Let’s do one more before and after.

Before:

SONY DSC

After:

SONY DSC

What do you think? Do you like the colour? Would you do this for your home? Have you done this?

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

14 responses to “Old To New Again

  • now at home mom

    Ah! these are so pretty, I love them and love how you personalized them too! Love, love the yellow so pretty and perfect for summer! We should definitely work together, I just posted earlier this morning my “yellow” project and used Krylon primer paint like you did; it took me 4 cans to complete my project. Me too, I will be using a primer before on my next project! 🙂 what about those high heels for $0.50 cents only: I want to see those! 🙂

    • ourlifeinaction

      LOL!! I just commented on your yellow project. It is BEAUTIFUL!!!!! I will take a pic and instagram my heels…I needed a pair for work and I just couldn’t turn these down. 🙂

      • now at home mom

        🙂 ha!ha! I know, I just rcv an e-mail about your comment! 🙂 glad you liked it too! 🙂 can’t wait to see them, I will follow you on instagram (I never use mine, I should start) 🙂

  • megbek

    A town yard sale???? That is amazing!! Excuse me! Um, and you’ve got some real creativity turning those frames into what you did. They look awesome and so much more modern and usable. Good idea to keep in mind, thank you!

    • ourlifeinaction

      LOL! THANKS! I really should have taken more pictures of the town yard sale. The town beside us is having theirs the weekend after next so you know I’ll be there and I’ll take more pictures. It is quite the spectacle. I was day dreaming of this happening in New York City or Toronto. Oh man – that would be epic!

  • ThisNestIsBlessed

    Love the yellow! I think we’re going to do the same thing once the Kitchen is all wrapped up and we can focus on the little things again!

    Looks great!!

  • Cowboys and Crossbones

    I love the bright yellow! And I use spray paint all of the time to spruce up junk or to give life to something dull – as you did with these frames. Love!

  • rebeccasdelightfulhome

    Pretty frames! I like that you thought to use yellow. Nice pop of color! You got some great deals…

    • ourlifeinaction

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve just been itching to paint/spray paint something yellow. I love getting pops of colour into my home and definitely need more.

      Thanks so much for stopping by 😀

  • Emily

    You got some awesome deals! And seriously, those frames look great, I love the bright yellow! I actually have a whole gallery wall of spray painted yellow frames in my kitchen.

    ~em @ small girl, big world

    • ourlifeinaction

      Hi Emily! Thanks so much 🙂 I have to admit I absolutely love them. I find myself staring at them as I sip my coffee in the morning – yeah I live an exciting life. 😉 Now I have to go check out your site. THanks for stopping by. 🙂

Speak to me! :-P