Olive Oil + Mason Jar Picture Frame

As I mentioned in an early post,  a great group of ladies from four other blogs (Sherry from Young House Love, Katie from Brower Power, Kate from Centsational Girl, and Michelle of Ten June) decided to host this year’s Pintrest Challenge. 

(Banner taken from YHL – click banner for link) 

The challenge is simple, pick something you want to recreate from Pintrest, put your own spin on it and blog about it.  Submit your entry on one of their blogs and voila – you participated in the Pintrest Challenge.

This is my first challenge; after endless searching, mind changing, planning, etc. I decided to choose something special and dedicate it to my husband, Jason.

We’ve been married for 10 years. So to mark this milestone we’ve decided to have an anniversary year where we create something or do something special to celebrate old memories  and create new memories throughout the entire year. That is why I chose the Olive Oil Picture Jar repinned via Kay Lawrence :

Pinned Image

Rather than babble on, let’s get right to it. I got my olive oil and mason jar and began making my masterpiece. 😉

Next I chose a picture and printed out various sizes so I could test which would fit inside the jar.

I also decided to print out some lyrics from Tim McGraw’s song “It’s Your Love” because it has special meaning to us. (awww – so cute right?!) I put the picture and the lyrics back to back with some card stock in between so that they keep their shape and laminated them together using laminating sheets.

After some snips here and there, I placed the laminated picture and lyrics in the jar. Yup, looks good.

Then came the olive oil.  I positioned the picture in the jar, and slowly poured the olive oil in. Surprisingly, the picture stayed put and didn’t move as I poured the oil in.

To make this that much more personal, I took a medallion that we got when we were dating and hung it around neck of the jar. 

Voila – a keep sake that is something unique to us. 

Happy Anniversary Babe – I love you so much!

About ourlifeinaction

Welcome to our life - filled with renovations, projects, kids, family, pets. You name it - we'll most likely blog about it. View all posts by ourlifeinaction

25 responses to “Olive Oil + Mason Jar Picture Frame

Speak to me! :-P